#AxiellVirtual2021

Axiell Virtual User Conference

June 8-18 2021

Connect and Learn with Your Community

Our Virtual User Conference returns! Join us this June for a roster of value-packed sessions delivered right to you through Zoom. We’ve taken learnings from last year, your input, and industry insights to craft a program of value-driven sessions and networking opportunities to help you get the most out of our user community and your partnership with Axiell. The conference will run June 8-18 and feature product roadmaps, tips & tricks, user stories and interactive discussions. All sessions will take place in English unless it is stated otherwise.

NETWORK

with hundreds of GLAM professionals

SHARE

technical and practical tips with users of the same product

LEARN

about the latest Axiell product developments 

INFLUENCE

Axiell's product roadmaps with your feedback and input

Book time with us!

Let’s have a coffee and a chat together during the conference! Several of our presenters and Axiell team members are opening up their calendars for quick 15-minute coffee chats. Browse the list below. If you don’t see the person you want to meet with, or they are fully booked, please email rielle.ullberg@axiell.com.

Browse all Sessions and Click Through to Register

We’re using Zoom to host the sessions. Simply expand the box around the session you’re interested in, click “register” and complete the form on the registration page to enroll in that session.

We’re trying something new! Our Birds of a Feather sessions give you an opportunity to meet and chat with your peers! These informal sessions, held via Zoom meetings, will enable users to gather and discuss topics of interest in smaller, interactive groups.

More sessions will be added as we approach the conference. Sign up to our customer newsletter to receive updates!

Can’t attend live? We do our best to reach as many of you as we can. You can register for any session at any time and submit questions for the speakers when registering. If you can’t join us live, registering and submitting your questions in advance is a great way to get the information you need. Session recordings will be available after each presentation. *Recordings may not be available for some Birds of a Feather sessions.

 

Week One (June 8 - 11)
Axiell Group Update and Future Vision June 8 June 8

June 8 @ 8:00 CDT/9:00 EDT/14:00 BST/15:00 CEST | 60 mins | Watch

In her keynote address, Maria Wasing will provide a full update on all things Axiell, including strategic initiatives for the year ahead. Join the conversation and the Axiell community for this informational presentation.

Presenter:
Maria Wasing, COO/EVP Axiell

Customer Operations Update June 8 June 8

June 8 @ 9:00 CDT/10:00 EDT/15:00 BST/16:00 CEST | 60 mins | Watch

This session will provide updates about customer services and support, as well as project delivery.

Presenter:
Daniel Moran, VP Operations, Axiell

*NEW* CultureConnect Executive Brief June 8 June 8

June 8 @ 10:00 CDT/11:00 EDT/16:00 BST/17:00 CEST | 60 mins | Watch

Samantha Diamond kicks off the CultureConnect user conference track with a brief on the company’s strategy, recent acquisition by Axiell, plans for the future, and some exciting announcements.

Presenter:
Samantha Diamond, CEO, CultureConnect (part of Axiell)

Axiell Collections Roadmap June 9 June 9

June 9 @ 8:00 CDT/9:00 EDT/14:00 BST/15:00 CEST | 60 mins | Watch

Learn about the latest updates, features and roadmap strategy.

Presenter:
Rene van den Heuvel, Global Solutions Expert Axiell

*NEW* Intro to Axiell Flow June 9 June 9

June 9 @ 10:00 CDT/11:00 EDT/16:00 BST/17:00 CEST | 60 mins | Watch

This session will introduce you to our soon-to-be-released cloud-based workflow product, Axiell Flow. Axiell Flow is a workflow tool that automates internal processes to help you and your team manage tasks efficiently and follow procedures consistently.

In this session we will show Axiell Flow in action and discuss how it works with other Axiell products. You will be able to ask questions about the software and learn how Axiell Flow can have an impact on your internal processes.

Presenter:
Matt Lawrence, Product Manager, Axiell

*NEW* CultureConnect: New Products to Meet Your Needs June 9 June 9

June 9 @ 11:00 CDT/12:00 EDT/17:00 BST/18:00 CEST | 60 mins | Watch

Get an overview of the latest new CultureConnect products with examples in action from leading institutions including: interactive maps, group tours, search, video livestream, image recognition, and a preview of our new UI.

Presenter:
Emily Gumpel, VP Marketing and Client Services, CultureConnect (part of Axiell)
Lauren Smedley, Senior Design and Content Strategist, CultureConnect (part of Axiell)

*NEW* CultureConnect Customer Panel - Creative Solutions for Mobile June 10 June 10

June 10 @ 11:00 CDT/12:00 EDT/17:00 BST/18:00 CEST | 60 mins | Receive by newsletter

Learn from CultureConnect customers who have launched Mobile apps and their creative use of the platform. From content strategy and design to stakeholder workflows and visitor engagement, learn from and dialogue with our panelists from:
-New Orleans Museum of Art
-National Museum of Industrial History
– and more!

Presenter:
CultureConnect Staff and Customers

*NEW* Intro to Linked Data June 11 June 11

June 11 @ 8:00 CDT/9:00 EDT/14:00 BST/15:00 CEST | 60 mins | Watch

In this session, Axiell CTO Fredrik Paulsson will explain Axiell’s approach to linked data and the differences between Linked Data, Linkable Data, and Linked Open Data. He will also explain the role of metadata schemas in linked data, Application Profiles and their use in connecting metadata schemas, and the difference between vocabularies, taxonomies, and ontologies. Learn why we need these tools and use this opportunity to ask questions about the concepts that you need to understand.

Presenter:
Fredrik Paulsson, CTO, Axiell

Adlib Tips and Tricks June 11 June 11

June 11 @ 9:00 CDT/10:00 EDT/15:00 BST/16:00 CEST | 60 mins | Watch

Ben Doty will cover Adlib FAQs and what you need to upgrade to Axiell Collections.

Presenter:
Ben Doty, Product Training Lead, Axiell

*NEW* CultureConnect Customer Panel - Creative Solutions for Advanced Interactives June 11 June 11

June 11 @ 11:00 CDT/12:00 EDT/17:00 BST/18:00 CEST | 60 mins | Receive by newsletter

Learn from CultureConnect customers who have launched in-gallery interactives and online experiences and their creative use of the platform. From content strategy and design to stakeholder workflows and visitor engagement, learn from and dialog with our panelists from:
-Missouri Historical Society
-Northampton County Historical and Genealogical Society

Presenter:
CultureConnect Staff and Customers

Week 2 (June 14 - 18)
Axiell Collections Tips and Tricks June 14 June 14

June 14 @ 8:00 CDT/9:00 EDT/14:00 BST/15:00 CEST | 60 mins | Watch

The session starts with an overview of resources available to Axiell Collections users, then discusses new Axiell Collections features.

Presenter:
Ben Doty, Product Training Lead, Axiell

*NEW* Axiell's Digital Ecosystem & Guide to Public Engagement/Access June 14 June 14

June 14 @ 9:00 CDT/10:00 EDT/15:00 BST/16:00 CEST | 60 mins | Watch

Learn how Axiell is supporting the move from siloed technologies towards an integrated digital ecosystem. Then, dive into Axiell’s latest public engagement offerings – CultureConnect for audience engagement and Arena for collections online – and how they integrate with your Axiell solutions today.

Presenter:
Samantha Diamond, CEO, CultureConnect (part of Axiell)
Martina Edwardson, Arena Product Lead, Axiell

*NEW* Upgrading from Adlib to Axiell Collections, from IWM’s and Axiell’s perspective June 15 June 15

June 15 @ 10:00 BST/11:00 CEST | 60 mins | Watch

Imperial War Museums (IWM) and Axiell will be looking at the upgrade project they have recently undertaken, focusing on four key areas. 1) Developments made to Axiell Collections, 2) updates to the upgrading process, 3) problem solving and 4) a look at IWM’s system.

This is a session for all users however there will be an Adlib / Axiell Collections focus.

Presenter:
Tom Smith, Collections System Manager, Imperial War Museums
Nicola Regan, Product Consultant, Axiell

Implementing Axiell Move Premium at the British Film Institute June 15 June 15

June 15 @ 9:00 CDT/10:00 EDT/15:00 BST/16:00 CEST | 60 mins | Watch

This session will be a presentation on the BFI’s project to replace end of life barcode scanner hardware with Axiell Move, and in particular how we utilised features of Axiell Move Premium to integrate Move with existing systems-driven processes and workflows.

Presenter:
Rob Scott, Collections System Manager, British Film Institute

Birds of a Feather Discussion: Creating an Inclusive Database, led by the National Gallery of Canada June 15 June 15

June 15 @ 11:00 CDT/12:00 EDT/17:00 BST/18:00 CEST | 60 mins | Live only

This will be an informal small group discussion about capturing cultural identity and gender to create an inclusive database. We will discuss how to record artists/creators, artwork/object titles, etc in our database to be more inclusive and respectful of different cultures. We’d like to know what other institutions are doing to achieve this.

The session will be led by the National Gallery of Canada and will therefore be framed from a North American lens, but anyone is welcome to attend!

Presenter:
Karen Wyatt, Manager, Documentation and Storage National Gallery of Canada

*NEW* Axiell Collections at Colchester + Ipswich Museums: Learning to Run Before We Walked June 16 June 16

June 16 @ 8:00 CDT/9:00 EDT/14:00 BST/15:00 CEST | 60 mins | Watch

Since moving to Axiell Collections in 2019, Colchester + Ipswich Museums have seen user engagement and satisfaction increase, they’ve significantly expanded the use of the database and also launched their AIS site. Here, Rory talks about the challenges and successes of the project so far, including:

– Moving to Axiell Collections
– Winning over staff
– Comparing engagement pre-Axiell Collections and now
– What’s next

Presenter:
Rory McDaid, Collections Information Officer (Colchester), Colchester + Ipswich Museums

Birds of a Feather Discussion: Decolonizing the Database from a UK Perspective, led by the British Film Institute June 16 June 16

June 16 @ 9:00 CDT/10:00 EDT/15:00 BST/16:00 CEST | 60 mins | Live only

This will be an informal small group discussion about decolonising the database specifically from a systems perspective. The session will be led by the British Film Institute and will therefore be framed from a UK lens. We will discuss questions such as; what does it mean to change our systems to no longer uphold colonial power structures? What new fields/guidance/system changes do we need to think about?

Presenter:
Louise McAward-White, Collections Systems Specialist, British Film Institute

Birds of a Feather Discussion: Working with Military Collections and EMu, led by the National WW2 Museum June 16 June 16

June 16 @ 10:00 CDT/11:00 EDT/16:00 BST/17:00 CEST | 60 mins | Live only

This will be an informal small group discussion led by the National WW2 Museum for EMu users who have large or exclusively military collections. The discussion will focus on the needs specific to our collection types. Non EMu users still welcome to attend!

Presenter:
Toni Kiser, Assistant Director for Collections Management, The National WW2 Museum

*NEW* Intro to Digital Asset Management with Piction June 17 June 17

June 17 @ 8:00 CDT/9:00 EDT/13:00 BST/14:00 CEST | 60 mins | Watch

Axiell and Piction have partnered to offer a digital asset ecosystem for museum and archive collections. This innovative collaboration brings digital media and collections data together, creating a foundation for complete digital workflows.

In this session, learn how Axiell and Piction facilitate the efficient and secure sharing of digital media within an organization, and support the protection, preservation and management of digital assets.

Presenter:
Erick Kendrick, CEO, Piction

*NEW* Building an Integrated MuseTech Stack with EMu, Piction and Drupal, led by the Amon Carter June 17 June 17

June 17 @ 10:00 CDT/11:00 EDT/15:00 BST/16:00 CEST | 60 mins | Watch

The Amon Carter Museum of American Art has recently launched their online collection portal by leveraging the technology of EMu, Piction and Drupal. Learn why they decided to undertake this project, the key players, and their workflow.

Presenter:
Rachel Panella, Assistant Registrar for Data Management, Amon Carter Museum of American Art

Discussion Panel: System Admins of the Future, led by the British Film Institute June 18 June 18

June 18 @ 10:00 BST/11:00 CEST | 60 mins | Watch

This panel will be led by the British Film Institute. Join our panel to discuss the changing role of the system administrator! We’ll reflect on the real jobs that Axiell users are doing – how much of the job is truly system admin and what else do we do all day?! We’ll consider the move to general digital skills, the increasing provision of public access and whether we’ll all be coders soon.

This session will be great for you if you’re thinking about how to develop a career working with systems or want to consider skills to work on; and will be a great chance to share some insights into our future needs with Axiell.

We are collecting data on this topic to enrich the presentation. If you can spare a moment please consider taking this quick survey to help the BFI tailor this session to your needs. If you’d like to be a panellist, please email rielle.ullberg@axiell.com

Presenter:
Louise McAward-White, Collections Systems Specialist British Film Institute

Få vores nyhedsbrev med de seneste nyheder i din indbakke

Vælg dine interesseområder:

Vi anvender cookies og indsamler andre personoplysninger på vores website. Læs vores Onlinefortrolighedspolitik for at se hvordan, hvorfor og hvad vi indsamler. Ved at fortsætte med at bruge vores site accepterer du vores Onlinefortrolighedspolitik.